Today, I would like to address outfits on rainy days because we’ve had a few here this week on the University of Delaware campus. It’s always interesting to me to see what my fellow students have chosen to wear on these gloomy gross days. It seems for the girls we have two cases; fab or frumpy. We have the fab girl who thinks, just because it is a rainy day doesn’t mean she has to look any less fashionable that normal. Then we have the frumpy girl who believes it’s raining, it’s gross, so it’s completely acceptable for my appearance to match the weather. Not okay.

I myself, like to have a balance between fab and frumpy because lets be honest, if you go to far to either side you may find yourself just looking silly. I do strongly believe a girl doesn’t have to look a mess because the weather isn’t 75 and sunny. So in order to help girls struggling to achieve a cute and comfy look I have developed some tips:

  • Don’t underestimate the rain boot! They’re practical and can be worked into an outfit seamlessly. I haven’t always been a fan of the rain boot. I just recently bought my first pair because I refused to purchase such an ugly, clunky boot. It may be a task to find a cute rain boot but keep searching, you will eventually find what you’re looking for!
  • Umbrella, umbrella, umbrella! An umbrella can make a seriously cute statement! Instead of going for a solid black drab umbrella, think patterns and crazy colors.
  • My go to for sprucing up a rainy day outfit is a scarf. A scarf can add a pop of color to your otherwise doughty outfit, try yellow or bright red. And again, don’t forget about patterns!

Here’s a few looks I love, use these for inspiration when creating your own looks!

ImageImage

