“I want to design. This is also a road that I want to earn it. So I’m working with designers. Designers that I respect, and [fashion] companies that I respect. I want people to really trust me before I just say ‘Buy it because it’s mine,'” – Rihanna

Yes, rumor has it that Rihanna is on track to becoming the newest celeb-turner-designer. After her most recent team-up with Armani she has big plans to launch her very own signature fashion line. RiRi revealed that she is working with her favorite and most respected designers, which of course she failed to reveal any names or specifics. I’m guessing it’s too soon to say.

If you haven’t watched the steamy Armani Jeans ad, you are missing out. As per usual the video is racey and provocative, but honestly would we expect anything else from Rihanna? The minute long black and white spot features a barely clothed Rihanna tossing and turning in the sheets, having troubles sleeping before an early flight. Take a look for yourself, I know after I watched I definitely wanted a pair of these amazing Armani jeans.

 

Now that I’ve successfully distracted everyone back to the issue at hand, ANOTHER celeb-turned-designer? In most cases, I absolutely despise when celebrities start their own lines, it’s obnoxious and egotistical. Isn’t being rich and famous enough for you people?! BUT unlike most celebs that attempt to do this Rihanna is actually a style icon. She possess her own unique personal style, not something highly paid stylists have concocted. Because she does have a keen sense of fashion and a large following it’s inevitable that she will achieve success in this venture, but the question is will it last? Many of her fans will support her and this will make it easier for them to emulate their favorite celebrity’s once unattainable style.

I look forward to seeing how Rihanna handles the growth of a potentially huge career move because this could make or break her reputation as a serious fashion icon and respected celebrity. I’m also excited to see how she is as a designer. I anticipate the vibe of the line to be rocker glam while incorporating her unique and rather edgy personal style.

We’ll just have to wait and see if the star sees any real, lasting success in the fashion industry. Best of luck!

