They’ve been around forever but have never been this high fashion, cute, or sparkly! Skulls are everywhere, from the run ways to the streets they are more popular than ever. Seen on a-list celebs like Paris Hilton, Heidi Klum and Miley Cyrus. The boys haven’t been shy with this trend either, Ryan Gosling and Justin Timberlake are big fans and rock the skulls frequently.

Skulls used to remind me of well, dealth. A few years ago I would not have been caught dead wearing anything with skulls or cross bones or anything that remotely resembled the two. I had it set in my mind that skulls went hand in hand with the dark, heavy eyeliner, grungy gothic look and believe me that was the opposite of what I was going for at the time. Thank god things have changed. Bye bye gothic skulls. Helloooooo high fashion skulls.

Today, skulls can be incorporated into a multitude of looks. I like to wear a some what grungy outfit when I choose to layer on my skulls. But it doesn’t always have to go that way.

Skulls can be a bit out there for some of our more reserved fashionistas and in that case you should ease your way into the trend.

Image

Try adding a skull scarf to a simple outfit like Nicole Richie. This particular scarf from the late Alexander Mcqueen is a favorite among celebs. Add a bright side bag for a pop of color like Kim Kardashian.

